WCSA Bulletin Board Forum Index WCSA Bulletin Board
World Class Soaring Association

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 
 Jump to.....WCSA website 

Thinking of buying used PW-5

View previous topic :: View next topic  
lonebeagle

PostPosted: Tue Feb 22, 2005 10:01 pm    Post subject: Thinking of buying used PW-5 Reply with quote

I'm considering buying a used PW5. I like the idea of the World Class glider--I'm a low time pilot with no ambition of flying contests but would like to do some cross country later. I'm just a little concerned about whether the World Class Glider class will survive. Are new planes being produced and brought into the USA? I've heard mainly positive things about the PW5 from people that fly them. Is the PW5 in danger of turning into a plane that no one will want in a few years?

On another point, how hard is the PW-5 to rig solo? I was also thinking of a used Russia but with no dealer in the USA that is a very negative strike against it. But the Russia has a very active message board and you can see the problems encountered by owners. The PW5 doesn't seem to have any "community" online or anywhere else where someone can get information on the pros and cons of ownership.

Thanks in advance for any info you can offer.
ptuckey
Site Admin

PostPosted: Wed Feb 23, 2005 2:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Welcome to this board, lonebeagle.

We have some very active people working on keeping the World Class going strong. There have been some issues with some of the high performance moguls attempting to kill the class, but I am happy to say that it looks less and less like they are going to get their way. Although I can't give you a very definite prognosis for the long term outlook for the PW-5, I am fairly optimistic.